Ludford

St Giles

SY8 1PJ parking limited, wheelchair access, WC.  Open 10am-4pm

A small peaceful medieval church on a picturesque and ancient site. Ludford is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.   The nave is late Norman, the chancel 14th century and there is a 16th century family chapel with memorials to the Foxe and Charlton families. The north chapel was built by William Foxe (died in 1554) as a burial place for his family. There is an excellent brass to him and his wife. There is a tomb chest with the recumbent effiigy of
Sir Job Charlton, a distinguished 17th century judge, who rebuilt the almshouses on the left of the path up to the church.
or visit the St Giles FaceBook page https://www.facebook.com/stgilesludford/
 
Above;- © Copyright Philip Halling and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.
Below;- St Giles FaceBook
 
 
Powered by Church Edit